Who's Who

Mr. Ram Nath Kovind, President

President Ram Nath Kovind took over office on 25th July 2017, as the 14th President of India. He was earlier the Governor of Bihar. One among the only two Dalit leaders to hold office, Mr. Kovind became a member of the BJP in 1991 and has also represented India at the United Nations. Coming from a humble and hard-working background Mr. Kovind worked as a close aid with former Prime Minister Moraji Desai. He is widely respected for his simplicity and his concern for the poor and marginalised.

Mr. Venkaiah Naidu, Vice-President

Mr. Venkaiah Naidu is the current Vice- President of India. He was earlier holding the post of Minister for Urban Development and leading the Ministry of Parliamentary affairs in 2014. He is a senior leader of the BJP and one among the well-known leaders in Indian politics. Given his background in law and administration, he has been an active leader in the parliament. He has had a link with the BJP’s ABVP (a student wing of the BJP) since a very young age.   

Mr. Narendra Modi, Prime-Minister

Mr. Narendra Modi assumed office in May, 2014 and was re-elected for the second term to become the 16th Prime Minister of India in 2019. He was earlier serving as the Chief Minister (head of state government) of Gujarat from 2001 to 2014. He has been an active member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (a right wing-Hindu activist group) in the past. With Modi’s enigma and popularity, the Bhartiya Janata Party in an alliance with National Democratic Alliance (NDA) won a massive victory in the Lok Sabha elections in 2014. Mr. Modi is known for his political oratory skills similar to that of Mr. Atal Bihari Vajpayee (Ex-Prime Minister) and the power to appeal to large sections of India’s Urban middle class and rural youth.
Before 2014, India had a soaring current account deficit and slow economic growth. Since, Mr. Modi has come to power, he has brought in a set of policies that aim to not only to revive the economy but also make it resilient to external shocks. With policies like Make in India, Digital India, Demonization, and GST the economy is certainly growing (8.2% of growth as of Q2 2018). The Monetary policy framework agreement is one of Mr. Modi government’s important accomplishments. Under his leadership, currently the Indian economy is the sixth largest economy in the world.

Amit Shah, Home Minister

Mr Amit Shah is currently serving as the Minister for Home Affairs. Before this, he was the party President for BJP from 2014 till 2019. Like other prominent leaders from BJP, Mr. Shah was also a member of student ring wing group called RSS for many years. With Mr Modi taking in-charge as Prime Minister in 2014, influence of Mr Shah both within the party and outside started to increase. He is believed to have played a crucial role in getting more members join BJP especially after taking in charge of the state of Uttar Pradesh during the assembly elections in 2017. Shah has been involved in passing a few important laws in the recent past including Article 370, Citizenship (Amendment) Act among others.

Mr. Rajnath Singh, Defence Minister

Mr. Rajnath Singh is heading the Ministry of Defence. He was the President of BJP from 2005 till 2009. Mr Singh had shown interests with the RSS since his teenage years and continued to hold many positions within the RSS. He is considered as a soft-spoken man who has generally kept a low public profile but, is one among the important leaders of the BJP to have actively advocated the Hindutva ideology. He has been the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and a member of Rajya Sabha. He holds credit for successfully installing the first BJP government in South India. He is regarded as a strong, determined and a sincere leader whose association with the RSS has lasted for several years.

Ms. Nirmala Sitharaman, Finance Minister

Ms. Nirmala Sitharaman is currently the second woman to be serving as the Defence Minister after Ms. Indira Gandhi. She was earlier serving as a Union Minister in the department of Commerce and Trade. She joined the BJP in 2008 as a spokesperson and in the 2014 Assembly elections she came to power in her constituency. She is regarded as a highly qualified leader with good administrative, analytical and deep thinking skills. She is India's first regular woman who is heading the world's third largest defense force with nearly 1.4 million personnel.

Mr. Piyush Goyal, Union Minister

Mr. Piyush Goyal is the current Minister of Railways and Minister of Coal in the Government of India. He is also heading the Ministry of Commerce and Industry. Between May to August 2018 he had taken over as the Finance Minister, since Mr. Arun Jaitley was on sick leave. He is also a member of the Rajya Sabha and was the Minister of State for power, coal and Mines. Since he has been in power, India’s power sector has witnessed massive changes. He has been a key player in the implementation of BJP’s development agenda of rural electrification- the UDAY reform and UJALA reform for energy efficiency.

Mr. Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister 

Mr. Nitin Gadkari is the current Minister for Road transport and Highways. He is a senior leader of the BJP party. He is known for his contributions towards flyover construction and road transportation when he was the Public works Development Minister in the state of Maharashtra. Despite many allegations against him, he is regarded as a close aid to Prime Minister Modi. Mr. Gadkari has helped implement many development related schemes in the recent years.